The Dream of Simplicity

18 12 2009

I have piles. Giant piles of papers. Boxes of papers from classes, research I’ve done, research I’m doing, projects I have, bills, taxes past and present, scrap paper, art paper, post its. I have piles of books that don’t fit into my bookshelves, I have piles of papers and articles in my closets just crammed on top of each other and those big giant plastic bins that are NOT see through piled on top of each other filled with more crap. My office, is in my front room. There is a constant and growing pile of papers littered on both the left and right sides of my desk from the projects I’m working on.

I have a bunch of bins that supposedly hold all of my tools and household hardware ‘thangs’. Please. I have no idea what are inside those bins. They are piled in the guest room closet.

My bedroom is a constant pile of clothes, clean clothes never make it into my closets. I have about 4 or 5 clothes baskets that you cant tell what is clean and what is dirty. My hamper is always full to the brim with dirty clothes. When people come over, I sweep the clothes off my bed, onto the floor and then shove them into my closet with the baskets piled on top of them.

I have a storage that I’ve had for about 6 years. Why? I don’t even know what is IN there aside from my camping stuff which makes sense because I live in an apartment without a garage or outside storage space. Its packed from the floor to the ceiling with … stuff. I don’t know what’s in there! Stop harassing me!

oh… sorry.

Whenever I’ve traveled out of the country, or gone on extended vacations or been somewhere for more than a few weeks, I always come back to my house wishing I could just gut this thing and start over. I look around, having lived with nothing but the clothes on my back, my computer and a few toiletries, I always think, I don’t need all this shit. Yet, somehow I hold on to it. My style is not a sleek, modern style, I’m definitely a gal who loves a little shabby chic, but messy and cluttered – NOT. However, I know there has to be a way I can marry the lessons from modern style and its simplicity to help release me from all this stuff. I’ve always been someone who believes the way that someone cares for their space is a reflection of themselves in some way. If this is my reflection, um, ew.

Its time to let go, release and get down to the simple things. I’m finding it hard to focus on my work with all these things piling up around me.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 12 2009
Ito

Did you write that post, or did I? LOL. I could’ve. Yes yes yes to all of it. YES to the “ew” of the mirroring of ourselves. YES to wishing I could just start from scratch. I think about when I moved to this state 27 (!!!!!!!!) years ago, with nothing but a couple boxes in the back of a Toyota hatchback. Now look at me. No, please don’t. It makes my head spin to realize how much stuff I’ve accumulated. WHY?

But hey. It’s good to have the company. Really good.

18 12 2009
Leslie

I highly recommend “Organizing from the Right Side of your Brain” — I found it very helpful. Gives a great explanation why creative people have difficulty being organized and he says you can keep your piles (just keep neatly organized piles).
(p.s. I have boxes in my attic that I moved INTO my house 16 years ago and never unpacked…you are not alone)

18 12 2009
Shannon

I am going to join you on this as well. I have on my list today- totesfrom the store so I can declutter the basement once again with the same junk once again. I hold on to far to much!
I am totally jealous of your friend. Awesome.
Love this new blog of yours šŸ™‚

18 12 2009
berkeleyscot

Susan, I’ve been decluttering, recycling and sorting for years and I’ve still got drawers and cupboards to start on.
My motivation was and always will be, having to empty my Dad’s house for sale after he died.
I had to do it in an obscenely short amount of time and tossed things I now regret, but couldn’t possibly have taken them back to California with me.
Dad kept everything, even medication that had been prescribed to his own mother! She died in 1968.
I found trousers he had been ‘pressing’ under chair cushions and a fortune in loose change in trousers and jacket pockets.
His important papers were mixed in with random news cuttings. He’d saved every issue of the local newspaper for me to read whenever I went home, and that was only every few years.
The BIG lesson I learned from that experience was that it is impossible to sort out or dispose of someone’s life, even my own, in a short amount of time.
You need TIME to decide what’s important to keep and what to do with the things you don’t.
Dad died in 2002 and I’ve been sorting myself out ever since.
Now you have TIME to ENJOY the process and to ENJOY the things you’ll find that you haven’t seen in years.
Margaret

Leave a Reply

